Smaller Dishware/ Less Dishware

One of the things which really bothers me about the Western world and now slowly the rest of the world is the size of dishes and cups, and glasses.  There is a need to go big.  Just look at the fast food restaurants and how they promote grande or super size.

If you look in your cupboards you will find large mugs and larger glasses. I have hated these things.  It makes you consume more and forces you to consume more.  You are not going to give a guest a half a glass of water or a plate which looks half empty.   What I have suggested before and what I like to use myself is small glasses, smaller cups and small dishes.  No one in the western world is stopping you from seconds, but at least you do not waste food and water.

The other thing which I have recently noticed is the number of dishes and cups in a house hold.  One of our daughters is moving away and so our house is getting a little emptier.  However the dishes are the same to wash?   I think if you only reduce the number of dishes and cutlery and glasses and cups in rotation in a house, you will have less dishes to do, thus less use of resources, and you will probably never have a chance for dishes to pile up.  Why do we have 20 cups when there are only four people in the house?

So four people in the house, four sets of everything…thats it!!!!!You can have more for when the guests come, but those should not be in the cupboard or in a rotation.  Is it possible?  I think so, but you have to have everyone in the family on board.  It sure would cut down on the dishes.

 

About hamvelji

Have been promoting live less, do more since 1996. Changed my views as I became a parent and realized I could help the world by shaping my children's philosophy of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

