I had that for Lunch!

How many times have you heard the phrase “…but I had that for lunch.”?  I heard it the other day and realized how stupid that sounds.

We in the western privileged world think if we have spaghetti for lunch we shouldn’t have it for dinner.   How absurd do you think that sounds to the starving.  Does a child in Sudan refuse his bowl of gruel because he has had it for the last year everyday?  Is that a good reason to refuse it? 

I may have said it once in my  life, but will never say it again.  In context of the starvation of humans on this planet I do not believe we have a right to reject food, because of our vainness.  I don’t like tomatoes, I had that for lunch, I don’t eat port, I am a vegetarian, I only eat meat, I don’t like spicy food, I don’t eat fried foods, I don’t like seafood…ect….

NO! NO NO NO!  LET US THINK TWICE BEFORE WE REJECT FOOD WITHOUT A THOUGHT.  LIVE LESS PHILOSOPHY DEMANDS YOU THINK TWICE ABOUT REJECTING FOOD, WHEN THERE ARE CHILDREN WHO HAVE NO FOOD. 

As my grandfather use to say, indians eat curry everyday, italians eat pasta every day, so shut up and be glad you eat every day.

 

About hamvelji

Have been promoting live less, do more since 1996. Changed my views as I became a parent and realized I could help the world by shaping my children's philosophy of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

