Buffet Conundrum

Here is my issue with Buffets; they are the antithesis of living less.  The mass quantity of food in a world where hundreds of thousands of kids go to sleep hungry is obscene.  The waste of the food, as consumers go and try to inhale all their eyes see and nose smell.  Do you find yourself eating too much at Buffets?  Does your mind feel it needs to get its moneys worth by making more than one trip to the buffet?

The idea of consuming more, having more and displaying more is against all Live Less stands for.  If you are consuming more than you normally would then its wrong.  If there is more waste then its wrong.  I would love to find out if buffets waste more food or less than regular places.  How many plates in the western world go back with food in them in regular restaurants?

So whats the conundrum? Buffets Bad!  Well when my children were little I liked taking them to the buffet, because I could control the portion and they never wasted food.  They took what they could eat only. I found it was better place for me, because I too controlled what I ate, however most people will find controlling their intake at buffets as hard as quitting cigarettes.  If you can control your intake, then buffets could be a better solution?  It still bothers me that we have buffets when people go hungry, but I am stuck on this topic.  I don’t know whether I need to condemn buffets or support buffets.

Fortunately I rarely end up in a situation of going to a buffet, and my children have grown up and choose their own way.  I did appreciate buffets when they were young.  

About hamvelji

Have been promoting live less, do more since 1996. Changed my views as I became a parent and realized I could help the world by shaping my children's philosophy of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

